Practicing Law Abroad After US Law School Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
TopLawHopeful

New

Practicing Law Abroad After US Law School

Post by TopLawHopeful » Fri Jun 07, 2013 6:02 am

Hi guys,

I'm an undergraduate student in the United States, and I am looking to go to law school immediately after I graduate.

My ultimate goal is to work as a lawyer in Australia, preferably in a major city like Sydney or Melbourne. I do not have Australian citizenship, nor do I have any professional connections there. (I studied abroad there for a semester, and I really fell in love with it.)

Is it feasible to start a career in the Australian legal industry after getting a US JD from a top-tier school? Or should I apply directly to top Australian law schools, such as UMelbourne (whose program happens to be ABA-approved), in order to have a fighting chance? What can I do to make myself more competitive? Should I do a study abroad in law school? Really, if anyone has any comments that are relevant to this matter, I'd love to hear them. :)

Thanks!

DougieFresh

New

Re: Practicing Law Abroad After US Law School

Post by DougieFresh » Fri Jun 07, 2013 6:40 pm

Why don't you take some time off after undergrad and move to Australia? Many people fall in love with countries they visit on study abroad, new friends, new culture, new foods, parties, road trips, a big vacation. Working in a place is quite different. Also, if you've never been abroad for an extended period of time, you should try that out. 3 months is quite different from a year or two years or a life time.

Don't rush your way into law school. Once you have $200,000 in debt it's pretty hard to go on around the world vacations.

guano

Gold

Post by guano » Fri Jun 07, 2013 6:47 pm

Go to law school in Australia. It makes the immigration process easier

indo

Bronze

Post by indo » Fri Jun 07, 2013 7:16 pm

guano wrote:Go to law school in Australia. It makes the immigration process easier