Rutgers-Newark versus Maryland (public interest aspirations) Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
riotpunch

New

Rutgers-Newark versus Maryland (public interest aspirations)

Post by riotpunch » Tue Apr 30, 2013 2:26 pm

I am currently a NJ resident interested in pursuing a public interest career after graduation. Rutgers-Newark has given me nearly a full ride (I'd pay 4k/year), while Maryland as only given me 12k/year, which would leave me with 24k/year to borrow.

Maryland is more highly ranked, and has a great clinical program. What do you think?

(I'm not sweating my waitlists-Fordham, W&M- because it's likely I would have to pay sticker price if admitted)

North

Gold

Re: Rutgers-Newark versus Maryland (public interest aspirations)

Post by North » Tue Apr 30, 2013 3:08 pm

It seems like you're treating this like a financial decision, so that's a good start. In order to provide you with fully informed advice, we'll need to know your answers to these questions:
  • What do you have in mind when you say 'public interest?'

What are your numbers?

Where do you want to work?

What are the total costs of attendance at each school, INCLUDING COST OF LIVING (e.g. rent, food, gas, etc.)?

riotpunch

New

Post by riotpunch » Tue Apr 30, 2013 3:47 pm

North wrote:It seems like you're treating this like a financial decision, so that's a good start. In order to provide you with fully informed advice, we'll need to know your answers to these questions:
  • What do you have in mind when you say 'public interest?'

What are your numbers?

Where do you want to work?

What are the total costs of attendance at each school, INCLUDING COST OF LIVING (e.g. rent, food, gas, etc.)?