Should I do TFA?

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)

Should I do Teach For America?

Yes, join TFA Corps!
68%
No, just focus on getting into law school
32%

Total votes: 19

bullman23

Should I do TFA?

Postby bullman23 » Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:32 pm

I am 23 and got accepted into Teach For America and I have until tomorrow to accept the offer. I graduated last year from a school down south in May 2012 and live in the south. I planned on only taking a year off and not look for a job and only study for t test. But I did not study properly and ended up canceling my Dec 2012 lsat score. I, however, was volunteering in a tutoring b in my community to keep myself active and help many young people.

I then thought I should apply for TFA and got in and they are sending me to NYC. So my situation is this: this is my first professional job; I have only done volunteer work, so I think this would be valuable experience before I go to law school. I also can help young people,which I have been doing with my volunteer service. I also would be going to law school at 24 at the earliest since I canceled my Dec 2012 lsat, so I will be at least two years out of undergrad.

My only reservations are that it will be difficult to study for my LSAT while going to grad school and working full time. My other thought is that I will be 25 when I am done and will be 28 when I am done with law school. So should I not do TFA since my main plan is to go to law school and not be a teacher long term? Will TFA help me in the long run? I also will be moving away far away from my family; however, I did plan on moving for law school. I should also add that I am a black male who graduated with a 3.63 and was raised in a tough school in the south so I am familiar with the school I will be teaching.

Bronck

Re: Should I do TFA?

Postby Bronck » Wed Mar 27, 2013 10:58 pm

Only do TFA if you truly want to teach kids. I didn't do it, but based on what others have said [here], it's very draining.