Advice for Princeton undergrad (lowish GPA)? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
proviso

New

Advice for Princeton undergrad (lowish GPA)?

Post by proviso » Sat Mar 02, 2013 12:05 am

I'm a sophomore struggling to get above a 3.6 GPA, and I've heard that undergrad name and the fact that one's school grade deflates like crazy doesn't really matter, so that blows. If I want to go to law school right after college, what should I do (besides killing the LSAT) that will raise my chances at a T14 and offset my GPA?

mephistopheles

Gold

Re: Advice for Princeton undergrad (lowish GPA)?

Post by mephistopheles » Sat Mar 02, 2013 12:22 am

proviso wrote:I'm a sophomore struggling to get above a 3.6 GPA, and I've heard that undergrad name and the fact that one's school grade deflates like crazy doesn't really matter, so that blows. If I want to go to law school right after college, what should I do (besides killing the LSAT) that will raise my chances at a T14 and offset my GPA?

becoming a rhodes scholar helps (though marginally).

Dmini7

Silver

Post by Dmini7 » Sat Mar 02, 2013 12:22 am

Unless you are an Olympian, Rhodes scholar or Fulbright, just focus on the LSAT. Also, a 3.6 is not that bad. Maybe you are a HYS or bust( since you seem to think the GPA will be an issue), but score well on the LSAT and you will have a great cycle and probably lots of money from T14's. It also seems to be agreed that HYP students get a small boost in admissions(or at least it is suggested from the stats on LSN).

gnomgnomuch

Silver

Post by gnomgnomuch » Sat Mar 02, 2013 12:24 am