ADHD, LSAT, and Time Constraints

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
ADDStudent

ADHD, LSAT, and Time Constraints

Postby ADDStudent » Thu Feb 07, 2013 2:18 pm

Hello there!
I appreciate anyone who can give me an honest and kind solution to my dilema. I really want to go to law school in PA, and use the degree to work in human rights. This is a long-time dream and I have volunteered my entire life to finally start making a difference. I have a GPA of 3.8 and I work hard on my studies, further, I am fluent in a few languages, and I am a female minority. However, I also have a strong ADD --meaning, I get very distracted/bored with long-uninteresting tasks, it is almost painful. I took the cold LSAT prep test (no meds, no time restrictions, no written sample) and it took me 4 hours to complete, I scored a 165. I studied for 2 weeks -while finishing my thesis and studying for my final exams- and sat for the Dec. LSAT. I decided to take my Vyvanse (meds.) to help me focus in the new setting... I hyper-focused on each question, the time was a major distraction and pressure, I felt lost and numb, couldn't concentrate at all and scored a 135 (!!) Yes, it was horrible.
I still want to go to law school, but I do not want to take this test again, as hyperventilating was not a good thing for me. The question is: Would my high GPA, great statement, and letters be enough to try? Should I be bold enough to try to best schools available? I do not want to just throw money away on the application fee (I cannot afford it). I have also looked into Foreign Affairs Schools for Policy studies, but guess what??... there's the GRE. :oops:

Rahviveh

Re: ADHD, LSAT, and Time Constraints

Postby Rahviveh » Thu Feb 07, 2013 2:28 pm

No, your score is not good enough for any schools worth going to.

Why haven't you requested accommodations?

Nonconsecutive

Postby Nonconsecutive » Thu Feb 07, 2013 3:36 pm

Hello!