0Ls: What's your plan B? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)

Bronze

0Ls: What's your plan B?

Post by 02889 » Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:36 pm

While many people on TLS have heard positively from at least a couple of schools, and we begin moving to the phase of the process where we decide which school to attend, I'm still caught on what I would do if I did not attend, either this year or at all. I'm currently a paralegal in a large PI organization, and I think with some networking I could switch to something in the general public policy or government sector (though I can't say when my career would hit a ceiling requiring a masters in something).

I'm just wondering: for all the 0Ls out there, what would/will you do if you don't matriculate in a school this fall?

El_Gallo

Bronze

Re: 0Ls: What's your plan B?

Post by El_Gallo » Fri Jan 18, 2013 1:06 pm

I decided not to go to law school last year even though I had T14 numbers. I am currently doing Teach for America. I feel like a lot of liberal arts majors feel pressure to go to law school, just because they don't feel like they have other options. So far, for me education have been an extremely rewarding field. I would encourage other people to look into it.

There are a lot of ways to get a masters in education for nearly free. There are parts of the country that are in desperate need of teachers. After 3-6 years you can reasonably expect to move into administration and and make between 50k-90k. If you become a principle of a big school or a superintendent you can make well over 100k.

Check out this link for a list of educator salaries in in Washington State. There are 100's of people that make a six figure income. http://wwwb.thenewstribune.com/databases/school_pay/

Not that I advocate going into education for money, but I feel like a lot of people don't even look into it because they believe they will be poor for their entire lives.

francesfarmer

Silver