Common question, slight twist - GPA

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Ormsby

Common question, slight twist - GPA

Postby Ormsby » Tue Jan 15, 2013 11:55 pm

Long story short, My undergraduate GPA is about 3.5. I'm now 30 years old and graduated from my undergraduate institution over 7 years ago. I've been a public school teacher since that time. I'm interested in moving into the world of education policy which, as I'm sure you can imagine, requires a lot of expertise in the field of education but working through legislation also requires a good understanding of the law.

I recognize my GPA to be quite low. I was 17 when I started college and my first two years (of 5) were more lackadaisical that I would have liked. My average GPA during my last 3 years was closer to 3.8, and my graduate school GPA has been a 4.0. I've not taken the LSAT, but as an undergraduate (again, 10 years ago or so) I did take some pretests and my scores ranged from 168 to 171 or so.

There is an amazing joint JD/MA in educational policy program at one of the top law schools in which I'm very interested. It's unique in its focus and unique to my particular situation and educational interests. Unfortunately, said law school happens to be Stanford, which I understand to be GPA centric in regards to admissions.

There isn't much I can do 13 years later to fix my undergraduate GPA (save for get a second undergraduate degree), but I do have several work and personal accomplishments of which I'm particular proud that I have managed to accumulate in the years I've been working. Also, because of the uniqueness of the program at Stanford I believe I can write a fairly strong Stanford oriented personal statement.

I'm afraid that 2 years of mediocre schooling are going to overshadow all that I've done with my life in the decade following. Would you say that this assumption is accurate?

Thank you for your help,

=Justin=

bluepenguin

Re: Common question, slight twist - GPA