Should I goto Law School PT in IP Law??

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Lawhelpneeded2013

Should I goto Law School PT in IP Law??

Postby Lawhelpneeded2013 » Sun Dec 30, 2012 8:13 pm

Background on me is I'm a 34 year old electrical engineer work for one of the Big 3 in Detroit. I graduated from a local, private university well known for engineering and its affiliation with General Motors; however, little to none national appeal. I have a bachelor’s in electrical engineering and a master’s in engineering management. My GPA is sub 3.0 (according to LSAC), LSAT was 160. I have been employed as an engineer for the past several years and roughly make 120k/year including OT. I have existing student loans from my previous schooling. Problem is while I make good money I work 6-7 days/week and work a dreadful 5p-5a shift inside a manufacturing shop. I am more of a manager than an engineer. Also because of my family and student loan commitments, I will only be able to attend either T3 (at best) or T4 schools near Detroit such as Wayne State, Michigan State, and U of D Mercy. I have looked into the Patent Bar and have spoken to other patent attorneys and find the work interesting. With the new USPTO office in Detroit is now is this a good time for a career shift knowing I cannot make a T50 school? Does it matter as much in the IP field what school you attend? Are there any large law firms that specialize in IP law in the Detroit area? If it matters, I do know that all of these school choices have agreements between them as well as with the University of Windsor to attend IP classes at any of the universities for credit so attending worthwhile classes will not be an issue. Any opinions will be greatly appreciated.

suralin
better than you

Re: Should I goto Law School PT in IP Law??

Postby suralin » Sun Dec 30, 2012 8:40 pm