Applying this cycle?

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
AintNoTimeForThat

Applying this cycle?

Postby AintNoTimeForThat » Mon Dec 24, 2012 3:15 am

Hello all,

Longtime lurker, but this is my first post. I wanted to ask some advice about applying this cycle or next. I have a 3.5X GPA from HYP and a 169 LSAT score. I took the LSAT more than once with a large score jump. I majored in the humanities. I am AA. I've been out of college for 2-3 years now. I have some experience working as a legal assistant at a large law firm and as an organizer during the last presidential campaign. I also have some international internship experience related to my interests in human rights/ public policy.

I was thinking about applying this cycle, but I haven't determined whether it's a good idea. I'd love to attend HLS or SLS, but as I understand it, that's a crapshoot with my numbers and URM status. I'd love to take the LSAT again and get in the 170s to make H or S more likely, but I obviously wouldn't have time to attempt that if I applied this year. I guess I could apply with what I've got and take the February LSAT to cover my bases, but I'm wondering whether that'll put me at a serious disadvantage. I have a couple of good friends who applied last cycle and didn't get their acceptances until April, so I can't imagine getting a score back in March would be that detrimental... I also know that there is supposed to be a huge drop in LSAT takers/ applicants, so it might be good to take advantage of that by applying this year.

What do you guys think?! Would appreciate any advice/ suggestions.

atcushman

Re: Applying this cycle?

Postby atcushman » Mon Dec 24, 2012 3:21 am

if you can afford to send in the app go for it...your best bet is to try and get a 174+ before next cycle and apply early. Not that its the end all be all but law school predictor says you dont have a chance with your current numbers.

TripTrip

Postby TripTrip » Mon Dec 24, 2012 3:24 am