Question about February LSAT retake Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
samn

New

Question about February LSAT retake

Post by samn » Sat Nov 10, 2012 2:27 pm

I'm applying to law school for Fall 2013. LSAT: 162. LSAC GPA: 3.9. Strong softs. I currently have acceptances with $$$$ at William and Mary (and the best fellowship they give, according to the dean; not a free ride but close-ish and a research position with a professor), U. Richmond, and Baylor. I expect to get into several other schools with money with my current stats.

I know that the conventional wisdom on TLS is to retake the LSAT. I'm open to that. But December registration is closed.

My question is, Will scoring a few extra points on the February LSAT help me get money and acceptances or is that too late? A lot of the schools I'm applying to strongly recommend not waiting 'til February to take the LSAT, but, then, they're talking about for the first time. Last time I took the LSAT, I studied for three months, took a class, did not have a baby yet, and the highest I made on a practice exam was 165. I took about ten practice tests and my mode (and floor, coincidentally) was 162. This morning I took another practice test and made a 167, but I think that's an outlier for me. I say all this to give you an idea of what I'm likely to do in February, not to imply that I won't study as hard as I can.

Please no "wait 'til next year." That's not really an option for me.

yuzu

Bronze

Re: Question about February LSAT retake

Post by yuzu » Sat Nov 10, 2012 3:24 pm

It is definitely possible that a new score will help you get money and acceptances this year, depending on the score. It still counts toward schools' overall statistics for USNWR. I think it is worth doing given that you think you can score higher.