hare-brained scheme to get off UVA waiting list Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
samn

New

hare-brained scheme to get off UVA waiting list

Post by samn » Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:17 pm

Hi TLSers,

First, some info about me: I'm a non-traditional applicant (I've been out of school for three years, am married, have an adorable one-year-old son, and work at a nonprofit in NYC). I plan to attend law school in Fall 2013. I'm a reverse-splitter with an LSAC UGPA of 3.92 and an LSAT score of 162. I studied philosophy and classics during undergrad. My top choice is UVA School of Law, but I was recently waitlisted after doing a binding early decision.

Now for my question:

I know that the waitlist for UVA is more or less a soft rejection, but hope springs eternal! In part in order to increase my chances, I am considering writing and submitting a paper to a philosophy conference as an unaffiliated thinker. I believe this is a good idea for two additional reasons: 1.) I still enjoy reading, thinking, and talking about philosophy, and I would like to write about it again; and 2.) UVA has a dual-degree program in which I could earn a JD and a Masters in Philosophy at the same time – a perfect program for me. To have any chance of getting accepted to their philosophy program, however, I think I need to have a recent paper.

My thinking is that this will make me seem like a self-motivated, intellectually curious person (I'd like to think that this appearance is also a fact!).

So, TLS-ers, what do you think? So crazy it just might work? Or just so crazy?

For the record, I think I would enjoy doing this even if nothing comes of it (especially if my paper is accepted, and I get to go to a conference). HOWEVER, if it would do nothing to increase my chances of getting off the waitlist (as opposed to at least a little something), it might not be worth the time investment.

Thanks for your opinions.