What is the Hawaii legal job market like ?

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
PrelawSteve

What is the Hawaii legal job market like ?

Postby PrelawSteve » Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:54 pm

Hello,

While, I am not technically a Hawaii local by "black letter definition" I am of Hawaii local roots:

Father was born and raised in Hawaii in Waipahu/Ewa.

He returned back when I was still in undergrad and I spent most school summers there.

I am thinking of moving to Hawaii to study and practice law.

My questions are the following:

1. What is the Hawaii legal market like, both in terms of private sector jobs and solo opportunites?

2. What is the Hawaii legal market like in terms of public sector stuff?

3. In terms of law school admissions at UH Hawaii-Manoa and getting hired, how "local" do you have to be? I ask because I am not technically a native, but am still more native in an unoffical sense then the average tourist.

Thanks

Mick Haller

Re: What is the Hawaii legal job market like ?

Postby Mick Haller » Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:36 am

I interviewed with several of the few Honolulu "mid-law" firms. I was at a west coast T1 with no ties to Hawaii. they wanted people with ties. It's a really small market, and unless you were Mr. Honolulu or unless you have some connections, it's probably going to be a real struggle.

Tom Joad

Postby Tom Joad » Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:40 am

You are going to win this election. Don't be such a pessimist.

bdm261

Postby bdm261 » Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:50 am

Tom Joad wrote:You are going to win this election. Don't be such a pessimist.

WIN

Smumps

Postby Smumps » Mon Sep 24, 2012 4:43 pm

PrelawSteve wrote:Hello,

While, I am not technically a Hawaii local by "black letter definition" I am of Hawaii local roots:

Father was born and raised in Hawaii in Waipahu/Ewa.

He returned back when I was still in undergrad and I spent most school summers there.

I am thinking of moving to Hawaii to study and practice law.