PT law school while working full time

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
admichal

PT law school while working full time

Postby admichal » Tue Aug 21, 2012 12:16 am

Is anyone here currently employed full time while attending law school part time? If so, care to share your field of employment and experience in school so far?

To give a little background about myself, I finished my undergrad with a degree in finance from a satellite campus of a large public university in December. I finished in three and a half years and finished with a 3.55 GPA, and started a masters degree (also in finance) at the same school in January. During my undergrad, I worked part-time at a large law firm (top 10 in the state in terms of number of attorneys) in the banking and real estate department under three paralegals and did a great deal relating to the securitization of commercial loans. I learned a ton regarding Article 9 of the UCC; my job responsibilities included things such as ordering and summarizing UCC lien searches, filing UCC-1 and UCC-3 financing statements, ordering title searches and obtaining title policies for loans secured by real estate, ordering corporate documents (such as articles of incorporation, good standing certificates, etc.), ordering flood certificates, and filing other documents (mortgages) in their respective jurisdictions.

A few months after I graduated and with the referral of a well respected partner at the firm, I accepted a full time position underwriting commercial loans at a large regional bank. I currently underwrite syndicated loans, with loan commitments ranging from $10 million to $50 million. In terms of compensation, I make pretty average money for a recent college graduate and have typical corporate benefits including tuition reimbursement for grad school. It's generally assumed that underwriters will transition into commercial lenders with a couple of years of experience, at which time I would receive a sizable pay increase.