Undergraduate degrees: one or two?

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
sp_crowell

Undergraduate degrees: one or two?

Postby sp_crowell » Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:43 pm

Does anybody know how much of a difference two undergraduate degrees make when applying to law schools? I am a sophomore right now and I'm bilingual and have solid extracuriculars including study abroad, volunteering, etc. but I can graduate a year early with a CJ major and a Spanish minor. Or I could stay all four years and have a CJ major with a general studies minor and a Spanish major with a history or English minor. I know CJ doesn't exactly prepare me super well for law school but I want other options in case I decide law school isn't for me.

dingbat

Re: Undergraduate degrees: one or two?

Postby dingbat » Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:50 pm

Little to none - it's a tiebreaker if they need to choose between you and someone else with the same numbers

bk1

Postby bk1 » Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:53 pm

2 degrees and/or majors won't matter. You seem to mean two majors, not two degrees. Your LSAC GPA will be calculated as of the issuance of your first degree. Purely for law school you would want to graduate whenever your GPA was highest. However there are other factors to consider for when to graduate such as the cost of an extra year, wanting to chill and party for an extra year, etc.

KibblesAndVick

Postby KibblesAndVick » Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:58 pm

You should stay for four years because college is awesome. Real life sucks. So does law school. Unless you're paying for college yourself graduating early is a horrible life decision.

sp_crowell

Postby sp_crowell » Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:06 pm