General law school/career questions

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
LWNagel

General law school/career questions

Postby LWNagel » Thu Jul 19, 2012 5:56 pm

Hello,

I am a current undergraduate student transferring from a community college to the University of Illinois in fall 2012. I have been investing a ton and a half of time in choosing future careers, and it is coming down to graduate studies in psychology, management consulting, or law. I would have it be known that for a long while in the past I had hoped to become a lawyer, but my interests somewhat changed and I found myself questioning other fields. Basically, I am wondering if my career goals in law are realistic or if I should look elsewhere. I have done much research, but hearing it from the horses mouth, so to speak, is the best.

Who I am:

Psychology major, Communication minor (possible Computer Science minor as well)
Projected GPA of 3.77+ conservatively, very likely in the 3.85 area
Stellar extra curricular activities (national speech team multi-medalist, including gold; student government; honors society; various clubs as officer)
Excellent communication/writing skills, and interest in law
Personally founding a 501(c)(3) devoted to helping high school students get involved in extracurricular activities
Started college at age 14

The reasons I am looking at law are, in no particular order...great money, great upward mobility, "people skills" emphasis, heavily based around writing.

The reasons I am not 100% committed to law right now are that a) I do not know if I can plan on getting a good biglaw job after law school, with my qualifications; and b) although I am more than happy---eager, even, to work crazy hours, I don't want to be working crazy BORING hours. I thrive on challenge, and although I know biglaw is not at all focused on the courtroom, I still want to have interesting tasks at the office.