Legal Internships in Undergrad

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
cc.celina

Legal Internships in Undergrad

Postby cc.celina » Thu Jul 05, 2012 2:30 pm

Hey guys! Just wanted a little bit of advice for my situation. I'm a rising junior in undergrad, and w/ my numbers I have a good shot at my target schools if I keep my GPA exactly where it is now. I have a lot of course requirements to finish before I graduate, so unless I want to empty my pockets for summer classes, I have to either take a moderately heavy courseload every semester till I finish, or take a normal courseload junior year and a really heavy one (as in doable, but extremely stressful and damaging to what remains of my social life) in senior year.

My question is, will there be any great benefit to putting off some courses till senior year and doing a legal internship part-time during junior year? Not talking about for admissions purposes - I believe the general wisdom that unoriginal softs like this don't matter in your app. But in life - I'm probably going straight from UG to LS, mayyybe doing TFA in between, but not planning on getting any real WE. I'm interested in PI-type stuff, and it would be great if an internship like this could introduce me to the field and give me a good idea of how much I'd enjoy working in it. But I know that interns usually get stuck doing menial things, especially when they're 0Ls, and sometimes don't get any meaningful experience that would inform them whether it's a good career choice.

TL;DR:
- Is a legal internship as an undergrad (with legal aid society, DA's office, etc) a good way to figure out what kind of law you'd actually be interested in practicing?
- Will law schools I'm eventually accepted to rescind admission/lower scholarship offers/generally shit on me if I bomb a couple classes senior year?

TYIA. Anecdotes are appreciated :mrgreen:

TTTehehe

Re: Legal Internships in Undergrad

Postby TTTehehe » Thu Jul 05, 2012 2:35 pm