Final Decision Time..Help! Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
aumlauf

New

Final Decision Time..Help!

Post by aumlauf » Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:27 pm

Hello. It has come time for me to make a final decision on whether to attend law school. I find this to be one of the hardest decisions I've ever had to make... here is my situation:

- I was accepted into Indiana University - Indianapolis part-time JD program.
- I have undergraduate in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Purdue
- I have an MBA from Butler University (just completed)
- I have 5 years of engineering experience.
- I have a very stable job were I can work 24 hrs / week and make $50,000 at an engineering company during law school.
- I have a very strong marriage, no kids
- With our combined income, I will not need to take on any debt to finance law school.
- I am 26 years old
- We plan on living in Indianapolis for the rest of our lives.

After 5 years of engineering, I have realized that I do not want to spend the rest of my life as engineer only to move on to middle management with a capped growth potential. My true passion is in business ownership, but I have not yet found the right opportunities that are worthy of this venture. My hope is that a career in IP / Patent law will 1) Give me a "trade" that will increase in value as I grow more seasoned in my career. 2) Increase my earning potential to a level that is significantly higher than a middle management engineer. 3) Expose me to more ideas and people that may one day lead to business start-up opportunities.

What should I do?

MormonChristian

Bronze

Re: Final Decision Time..Help!

Post by MormonChristian » Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:37 pm

aumlauf wrote:Hello. It has come time for me to make a final decision on whether to attend law school. I find this to be one of the hardest decisions I've ever had to make... here is my situation:

- I was accepted into Indiana University - Indianapolis part-time JD program.