Recommended Patent Bar Prep Course(s)? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
d_a_n

New

Recommended Patent Bar Prep Course(s)?

Post by d_a_n » Wed May 16, 2012 5:11 pm

Hi, this is my first time posting on this site, so if this is in the wrong forum, please move or delete.

I'm hoping to start Preparing for the Patent Bar relatively soon, and I'm not sure what prep course makes the most sense. From what I was able to find on the web, my choices seem to be...

1. PLI: I'd prefer not to drop $2750 on the new course, so I'd probably pick up the materials off of ebay or amazon for $400-500. My questions with this strategy are, first, how effective are the materials? Also, are the materials dated 2012 appropriate to the exam I would (in theory) be taking in a few months?

2. Omniprep: This looks to be a series of entirely web-based courses for $495. They claim a +98% pass rate for those who take the course, along with a money back guarantee. Has anyone taken this course? Opinions?

3. Bullseye: Bullseye looks like they offer a series of pretty cheap hardcopy materials, including a $30 review book. I guess I'm skeptical considering how cheap this option is compared to the other two (I understand the difference between just a book and a series of video lectures), and I'm wondering if anyone has used just these materials and experienced good results.

Sorry if that was a bit convoluted, and thanks in advance for the help! If anyone has knowledge of any other prep materials that I didn't mention above that are worth pursuing, I would be interested to hear about them as well.

pinkcamellia

Silver

Re: Recommended Patent Bar Prep Course(s)?

Post by pinkcamellia » Wed May 16, 2012 5:52 pm

Hey there, I don't know anything about the PLI or Omniprep, but the Bullseye materials will do you just fine. It has an outline of every MPEP chapter, a couple other study aids, and a bunch of practice tests w/ answer explanations.