What did you guys do in your time off? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
swtlilsoni

Bronze

What did you guys do in your time off?

Post by swtlilsoni » Sun May 13, 2012 1:31 am

I had about a year and a half off and I didn't do anything too exciting. I finished school fall 2010 (did an extra semester).

Spring 2011 I did law school apps, and then decided I didn't want to go that fall, started applying to a bunch of jobs. In my free time I didn't do much (all my friends moved) so I spent most of my time chilling at home, watching tv, movies, reading, and hanging out with my bf, and dealing with stupid relationship drama.

Summer 2011 I went out of the country to visit relatives.

Fall 2011 I studied my ass of for the LSAT (December test)

Jan + Feb 2012 was law school stuff (apps, extra essays, etc).

and since Feb I've just been doing the same bs, staying home, chilling, tv, going online, going out to party like twice a month, and hanging out with the bf and dealing with relationship drama.

This summer I'm probably gonna go abroad again.

So overall it was a pretty uneventful time off.....
Is this normal? Because I feel kind of like I wasted two years of my life.

togepi

Silver

Re: What did you guys do in your time off?

Post by togepi » Sun May 13, 2012 1:49 am

If you get asked by a potential employer just talk about the traveling and seeing the world. You did take a long break but if you turn it into a positive (maybe not the movies) but saying that you took time off the read books and see the world, I'm sure it could make for some decent talking points.

it might come off as lazy though if you didn't do any work. maybe lie and say you worked at a relatives mom and pop shop for a bit and learned how to cook :)

I'm teaching English abroad right now and catching up TV, movies, and books has been the most fantastic year ever. I'm going to apply this upcoming cycle

ilovesf

Diamond

Post by ilovesf » Sun May 13, 2012 1:51 am