Following a lawyer around

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Qwerty12345

Following a lawyer around

Postby Qwerty12345 » Sun Apr 08, 2012 11:58 pm

I'm a sophomore at a NYC school who is contemplating law school. For some weird reason, my school schedule my finals in such a way that I've a couple weeks off between my most important finals, and minor finals/assignment deadlines for easy classes. Since I will only have little studying to do at that time, I would like to use most of my time during these 2 weeks to follow around a lawyer or different lawyers, at a firm or in a private practice. I have no legal skills, no clear idea of what being a lawyer entails, but I could not imagine anything more interesting than observing one at work. However, since I've worked as an office assistant and assistant librarian, I'm pretty sure that I could help by doing so minor tasks such as photocopies, typing, etc... How could I go about finding such an internship? What are NYC firms susceptible of accommodating such a request?

Renzo

Re: Following a lawyer around

Postby Renzo » Mon Apr 09, 2012 12:10 am

First, most of what lawyers do is sit in front of computers any type, so it would be horrendously boring to watch. And, they are dealing with confidential material, so having short term interns can be problematic. However, it would be a good idea to see if you can meet with some lawyers to discuss what they do, and if you can find some that actually have interesting things to do, to see if you can observe them for a few hours or so.

Does your school have a pre-law club? They should be able to put you in touch with someone who would at least meet with you, and might possibly let you shadow them for a while.

If not, I have some other ideas; maybe you could PM me a few details about yourself.

landla

Postby landla » Mon Apr 09, 2012 9:25 am