Chicago vs. LA legal job market

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
sbuzz

Chicago vs. LA legal job market

Postby sbuzz » Tue Apr 03, 2012 4:07 pm

I am trying to decide between attending a regional school in LA or a regional school in Chicago. The one in Chicago is ranked significantly higher in the US Rankings (but still a regional school). I've been trying to find out which area has a better legal job market, but haven't had a whole lot of luck. I was hoping someone with actual knowledge on the subject could provide some insight on this. Much appreciated!

alabamabound

Re: Chicago vs. LA legal job market

Postby alabamabound » Tue Apr 03, 2012 11:33 pm

I lived in LA before law school where I worked as a paralegal and am currently a 2L in Chicago. My sense is neither market is great right now (none are) but Chicago is maybe a bit better at the moment. That probably shouldn't be driving your decision on schools though, even assuming it's accurate in the most general sense.

BearsGrl

Postby BearsGrl » Tue Apr 03, 2012 11:40 pm

Both law school graduates that I know that graduated from non-Chicago based schools, but schools within the Midwest are compliance associates. I know the one individual had a solid financial-based resume. Assume this type of work and be grateful for anything above it.

bdole2

Postby bdole2 » Tue Apr 03, 2012 11:43 pm

where are you from?

sbuzz

Postby sbuzz » Wed Apr 04, 2012 12:35 pm

I am from New York (originally Westchester County, but Buffalo now).

Alabamabound - do you mind if I ask what school you attend in Chicago?

twenty

Postby twenty » Wed Apr 04, 2012 1:15 pm

Knowing basically nothing about your ties or the actual schools you're applying to (rankings after the t20 don't really matter too much...), the Chicago market has to be better than the LA market, because LA is absolutely god-awful.

Again, I have no idea what your situation entails, but have you considered law school in NY instead?

alabamabound