teacher to lawyer

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
bobcatou

teacher to lawyer

Postby bobcatou » Sun Mar 18, 2012 5:08 pm

In the last week I've begun researching a possible career in law. I have a few questions:

-I've been a high school English teacher these past 6 years. I'm looking at a PT program where I would take classes at night and earn a J.D. in four years. What kind of career opportunities could I look forward to as a new lawyer with 10 years of teaching experience?

-I live and own a home in Savannah, GA. Last December, it was announced that Atlanta's John Marshall Law School would be opening a new branch here, called Savannah Law School. As an educator, I'm wary of for-profit schools and diploma mills and I don't want to attend a school and end up trapped in $100,000 in debt with a degree that's not worth the paper it was written on. What is the reputation of Atlanta's JMLS in terms of the employability of its graduates?