Internship Experience Before Applying to Law School

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
wiseguy

Internship Experience Before Applying to Law School

Postby wiseguy » Tue Mar 13, 2012 1:08 pm

Hey Guys,

I am a Business Student at a top public university and as apart of our curriculum it is recommended we complete at least two internships before graduating. Obviously these internships will be business related with some well known companies or some start ups in the area usually and I was wondering do Law Schools want to see the fact that you just gained the working experience regardless of the field or does a person who interned at a law office gets the upper hand?

rinkrat19

Re: Internship Experience Before Applying to Law School

Postby rinkrat19 » Tue Mar 13, 2012 1:10 pm

Neither really help all that much. Internships aren't considered real work experience by the few schools that care about such things (Northwestern, Harvard) and the rest of the schools don't care.

Gail

Postby Gail » Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:44 pm

rinkrat19 wrote:Neither really help all that much. Internships aren't considered real work experience by the few schools that care about such things (Northwestern, Harvard) and the rest of the schools don't care.

What about paid internships post graduation? Say a year's worth at a regular salary? Similar to a temporary position but the title is "intern"

rinkrat19

Postby rinkrat19 » Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:48 pm

Gail wrote:
rinkrat19 wrote:Neither really help all that much. Internships aren't considered real work experience by the few schools that care about such things (Northwestern, Harvard) and the rest of the schools don't care.

What about paid internships post graduation? Say a year's worth at a regular salary? Similar to a temporary position but the title is "intern"
The title is a bit problematic, but if you can describe it on your resume or in your PS as more of a "real" job, then it'd probably be okay.

Gail