What should I do next?

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
jojo13

What should I do next?

Postby jojo13 » Wed Mar 07, 2012 5:09 pm

I need some advice...
I have a B.S. in Aviation and an M.S. in Safety Management/Human Factors from university in the Big Ten. I am also a commercial pilot. My undergrad GPA was 3.2 and graduate GPA was 3.6. I have taken several practice LSATs and scored mid 160s to mid 170s. I will have 3-4 years of work experience in management consulting and airline safety by the time I would be applying to law schools.

So yes, I know I am in a very specialized industry, and getting a law degree would make me even more specialized. That is kind of the point though; I am interested in getting into law related to aviation (and other transportation) accidents. I am currently looking for someone that does this kind of work to get advice, but I thought I would also try here.

I would appreciate any suggestions on what other research I should do, what level of law schools to look at, and what type of law to study.
Thanks!

Doorkeeper

Re: What should I do next?

Postby Doorkeeper » Wed Mar 07, 2012 9:11 pm

What law schools you get into is going to be determined mainly by your undergraduate GPA and your LSAT score. Since you can't change your undergrad GPA, you need to focus on doing as well as possible on the LSAT. If you can pull a low to mid 170s on the LSAT, you can get into a T14 school (Georgetown, Northwestern, Duke, etc). You'll do a lot worse if you can only manage a mid-160s.

Also, when you write your personal statement you should probably address why you want to go to law school. The admissions people will be curious as to why you're switching careers. Your narrow interest might be of help to you here, since you're not completely changing your area of interest.

Basically, make sure you kickass on the LSAT.

JCFindley

Postby JCFindley » Wed Mar 07, 2012 10:29 pm