What Schools to Go to for Biglaw? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
echamberlin8

Bronze

What Schools to Go to for Biglaw?

Post by echamberlin8 » Wed Mar 07, 2012 10:48 am

I put this thread in another forum, but figured it's probably better off here.

My goal is to get into a big law firm in NYC. I haven't taken the LSAT yet. Planning to in June, and if I don't get a 170, doing it again in October. My GPA is a 3.73. I graduated in '09, and have worked at a government contracting company, and now work at a big DC law firm.

I'm aware that Columbia and NYU are my two best options for getting into NYC big law. That is why my goal is at least a 170 on the LSAT. If I don't get into those, I know Cornell is another option. And possibly University of Pennsylvania. Are there any other good options outside of T6 for NYC big law other than Cornell and UPenn? Does Fordham offer a good shot at NYC biglaw?

Some people say that all of the T14s provide a good shot at biglaw, but others say that it's only in their regions.

Is it true that it's easier to get into biglaw in NYC than in other cities, since there are so many positions available?

justinp

Bronze

Re: What Schools to Go to for Biglaw?

Post by justinp » Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:18 am

Most T14 schools will give you a good shot at NY. NYU and Columbia place more people into NY than other schools do, but that seems more self-selection than anything else. You can go to NY from other schools, and you can go other places from NYU/CLS.

Bronck

Gold

Post by Bronck » Wed Mar 07, 2012 12:09 pm

You do realize that almost all of these questions were answered in your previous thread, right?

If 25-30% is a "good shot", then Fordham offers a good shot. I personally don't think that's a very good shot.

TMC116

Bronze

Post by TMC116 » Wed Mar 07, 2012 1:26 pm

In NY? NYU, Columbia, Cornell, UPenn

Chicago? U. Chicago, NU

DC? Good luck.

(That's obviously overly simplified)

bk1

Diamond