Delaying Law School for a Year

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
simplyxeva

Delaying Law School for a Year

Postby simplyxeva » Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:33 pm

Are there any of you out there who have (or plan to) decided not to go to straight to law school after undergrade and instead took a year off and to do something else? Besides probably studying for an LSAT retake, what did you guys do with that one year to make yourself a stronger applicant for the next law school application cycle? Thanks!

gaud

Re: Delaying Law School for a Year

Postby gaud » Mon Nov 14, 2011 8:51 pm

Get a job at a law firm you're interested in, or at least try. Also, consider volunteering....

The specifics don't matter too much, just make sure you do something valuable with the time you have.

happyshapy

Postby happyshapy » Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:25 pm

I decided to take a few years off. I graduated in 2010 and I hope to start law school in fall 2013. I moved across the country to a place I thought was interesting and now I teach. I wouldn't do anything differently. I will never be able to do something like this for a very long time after law school. You don't want to go straight to law school from undergrad not only because of OCI and job prospects but also at a personal level. This will likely be the only time in your life where you get an opportunity to take a year "off."

hobojarpen

Postby hobojarpen » Tue Nov 15, 2011 2:56 am

I graduated in 2009. I took the LSAT for the third time and just turned my apps in last month. In between, I studied and took two LSATs, volunteered with/through church, and worked as a clerk at a law office through the better part of 2010. A year off isn't the worst thing.. unless you don't spend it constructively.

smokeylarue

Postby smokeylarue » Wed Nov 16, 2011 10:17 am

Just try to do something constructive. If not, honestly, no biggie. Enjoy your funemployment for the year, its never gonna be like this again.

Ostrizr316