JD and MS in physics?

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
expelliarmus

JD and MS in physics?

Postby expelliarmus » Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:53 pm

I am now majoring in physics, and I absolutely love it. So I want to continue my studies after I graduate from college. However, my family will not support me if I pursue a PhD, but they will support me if I pursue a JD.
I am considering JD/MS dual degree. However, I am now worried that it will take away the credibility from the JD and the MS.

My parents advised me take MS EE. However, I don't want to - because I have no background in programming and hardware from undergraduate; but the physics material learnt in EE will not be as in depth as in physics. But it will make me more employable in terms of patent law.

Can anyone enlighten me on either of the two questions: 1. Will a JD/MS in physics make both degrees less credible? 2. Is MS EE more employable than MS Physics in terms of patent law. I am not sure if I want to go into patent, but it's just good to know.

Thanks!

bdubs

Re: JD and MS in physics?

Postby bdubs » Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:58 pm

Do you want to be a physicist? If so, you should just do the PhD program. The ones that are worthwhile come with funding.

buzzbuzz2727

Postby buzzbuzz2727 » Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:14 pm

1. No, it will not make either degree less credible.

2. Hard science backgrounds are only required for patent prosecution. With that said, IP/patent litigation departments do favor people who have a demonstrated interest in technology, and a degree in hard science will convey that interest. It honestly doesn't matter which science degree you go with because patent law is incredibly diverse. Hence, you're going to need to learn many patent issues from ground up anyway. If it's really down to EE or Physics, I would pick EE because there's so much IP litigation involving semiconductors.

gin

Postby gin » Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:29 pm