Addendum Necessary?

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
DerpKnight

Addendum Necessary?

Postby DerpKnight » Wed Nov 09, 2011 9:06 pm

I took the LSAT a year ago and scored a 163. I retook it in October, and scored a 169.
Should I write an addendum explaining the difference, or is that unnecessary?

FryBreadPower

Re: Addendum Necessary?

Postby FryBreadPower » Wed Nov 09, 2011 9:09 pm

If you have no other reason besides studying more, then no it probably wouldn't really help your application.

DerpKnight

Postby DerpKnight » Wed Nov 09, 2011 9:26 pm

It's not that I studied more, but at the same time I feel that the reason seems a bit less like a genuine reason and more like an excuse.
The first testing location was about 100 yards from a railroad track, and two trains came through, so I had to sit through two ten minute sessions of train horns and track rattling - not the best thing for concentrating on logical reasoning questions.

lawyerwannabe

Postby lawyerwannabe » Wed Nov 09, 2011 9:50 pm

DerpKnight wrote:It's not that I studied more, but at the same time I feel that the reason seems a bit less like a genuine reason and more like an excuse.
The first testing location was about 100 yards from a railroad track, and two trains came through, so I had to sit through two ten minute sessions of train horns and track rattling - not the best thing for concentrating on logical reasoning questions.

It is up to you. That is not really an excuse; it is a legitimate reason why you may not have scored as highly on your first take.

However, I think there is a strong argument to not include an addendum since most schools will only look at your higher score anyways when deciding to admit you.

JamMasterJ

Postby JamMasterJ » Wed Nov 09, 2011 10:17 pm

some schools specifically ask for addenda about jumps of 5+ points. Do these, but don't send it to the others. I jumped 10 points and only sent to the schools that absolutely require it

Worker and Parasite