Major, GPA, and, Minors given strong consideration? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
MusicComp

New

Major, GPA, and, Minors given strong consideration?

Post by MusicComp » Sun Aug 14, 2011 7:11 pm

Hello everyone,

I have read through the FAQ and was hoping someone could provide a bit more information about how your "major" is taken into consideration, as mine is fairly unusual (the first I've seen from browsing these boards).

I am a junior (but will graduate as a 5 year senior) pursuing a Bachelors of Music (B.M.) in Music Composition. I can tell that my major is fairly atypical for law school admissions and am wondering if the specific major will help or hurt my chances. I read in the "Read This" post that law schools don't give to much weight to your major, but any additional insight would be appreciated). My GPA in my major will be a 3.8 (but LSAC GPA will be around a 3.62 when I apply in Fall 2012 [a terrible freshman year].

I will also have three minors: Writing and Rhetoric, Business, and Legal Studies. Will these give any weight to my chances of being admitted (coursework for Writing and Legal Studies are comprised of all "A's" (A 4.0 in the minor).?

My ECs are an internship with Lockheed Martin, and founding and running a non-for-profit organization that teaches children Music, Dance, Theater, Art, and Creative Writing. (Just providing more insight to possibly effect my major).

I have posted a question about personal statements in the personal statement forum with similar supporting information based on how and what I should write my PS on.

I am trying to get a better idea of how my application will be taken through the admissions process at Law Schools, in particular how the minors and my major will be weighed and considered.

Thank you, everyone. I will check this constantly. :)

IAFG

Platinum

Re: Major, GPA, and, Minors given strong consideration?

Post by IAFG » Sun Aug 14, 2011 7:14 pm