MAC newbie here - Help getting started, please. Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
NickJefferies1098

New

MAC newbie here - Help getting started, please.

Post by NickJefferies1098 » Wed Aug 03, 2011 12:03 am

I've only used PCs, but I decided to bite the bullet and buy a Mac. I haven't even cracked it open yet, but I was wondering the best way to really learn all the necessary things about it that I will need. The Mac store offers a $100 one-on-one training program, which I think is ridiculous. Alternatively, I suppose I could find several tutorials online. For those of you that have Macs (and are not especially tech-savvy), would either of these be recommended, or would you suggest just messing around with it? When I first bought my Motorola Atrix smartphone, I just messed around with it and was able to figure out a lot, but when I actually started using the tutorial that came with, I realized that was missing so much. Are Macs the same way?

The reason I'm even asking this is because I want to determine whether or not i should spend my last days of freedom reading Apple's extensive "how-to" manual. Thanks.

dr123

Gold

Re: MAC newbie here - Help getting started, please.

Post by dr123 » Wed Aug 03, 2011 12:11 am

Macs are easy as fuck to use, those training programs and shit are just cash cows.

rinkrat19

Diamond

Post by rinkrat19 » Wed Aug 03, 2011 12:14 am

I thought the point of Macs was that they're soooooooo intuitive and your blind Amish grandmother would be emailing in 10 minutes.

(I have never found them intuitive at all. I spend a lot of time staring at the oh-so-elegantly blank screen wondering where the fuck they've hidden all the functionality.)

Paraflam

Bronze

Post by Paraflam » Wed Aug 03, 2011 12:17 am

dr123 wrote:Macs are easy as fuck to use, those training programs and shit are just cash cows.
+1