The entire law school experience

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
thenoob

The entire law school experience

Postby thenoob » Wed Jul 27, 2011 9:48 pm

As my username indicates I am a noob 0L who doesn't really understand much of anything right now. If I had gone to law school without ever reading this site, I'd be COMPLETELY clueless about what I was in for. I probably wouldn't even know what OCI meant.

Glancing through this site, I've been piecing things together, but I'd like to get some things more explained.

So... Is this how it works?

First year is the hardest. You need to work hard to get good grades (obviously). At the end of the first year, is that when people go through the write-on process to try to get on law review? Does everybody try to do this? And when exactly do you try finding summer employment? / WHAT exactly is the process of finding it? Is there some kind of "OCI" for 1Ls? Or do you just submit applications for summer internships? And are they usually paid or not?

Then at the beginning of 2L year is when you participate in OCI? Which is a grueling process, blah blah blah, and if you get accepted for a SA position then you're likely going to be working at this firm once you graduate law school provided you don't fuck up? Or am I completely wrong and the hiring process for post-3L is completely separate from the one for summer after 2L? Do 3L grades really matter very much?

And so you take the bar summer after 3L? Does your company usually pay for your bar review course?

I guess that's pretty much it. Yes I do realize there were about 20,000 questions in here. You don't need to answer all of them, but if you have any information on any of them please share. And sorry for being so noobish.

Z3RO

Re: The entire law school experience

Postby Z3RO » Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:08 pm