Alternative to Law School- Back Up Plans

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
arris

Alternative to Law School- Back Up Plans

Postby arris » Mon Jul 18, 2011 10:02 pm

Hi, I hope this is the right subforum for this question. I'm nearing the end of my undergrad career and have begun studying for the LSAT, familiarizing myself with admissions, reading here, internalizing LawSchoolTransparency, etc. I'd like to go to law school and become a lawyer, but only if I get into schools which would make practicing an outcome with a > 50/50 chance of occurring. I don't really have plans on what to do if I don't make it so I'm studying for the GRE as well.

I'm not incompetent in mathematics or hopeless in science, I especially like physics but chose to study economics because careers in the type of science I enjoy seemed even more limited and hyper-competitive than in the legal side of things.

If anyone else is in a similar boat, what are options you're considering "just in case"? Other professional degrees?
Thanks.

WSJ_Law

Re: Alternative to Law School- Back Up Plans

Postby WSJ_Law » Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:27 pm

Medical school/PhD/I-banking/Accounting/CFA/vet school/military/contracted manual labor/etc.

Bill Cosby

Postby Bill Cosby » Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:35 pm

WSJ_Law wrote:Medical school/PhD/I-banking/Accounting/CFA/vet school/military/contracted manual labor/etc.

If you think the legal job market is bad, try looking at the market for PhDs.
I-banking? Those jobs were hard to come by from good schools pre-ITE.

Postby 071816 » Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:43 pm

A solid option:

DELETED

dusk2k2

Postby dusk2k2 » Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:43 pm

Plumber, Garbageman, Janitor are all superior options to being a lawyer because of high demand, low stress, and good wages. You'll make more than enough to feed your family, but people will look down on you, if that's something you care about.