Is it even possible for me? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Divalaw214

New

Is it even possible for me?

Post by Divalaw214 » Fri Jul 15, 2011 3:16 pm

I'm a newbie but I've been lurking around TLS for some time now and astonished by the amount of information I've gotten here (great stuff!) Maybe you guys can give me some advice:

I'm an "older" student who is currently working on completing undergrad. I began college ten years ago and ended up dropping out because I got pregnant. Returned to the University as a part time student, while working full time and doing quite well until my brother got into a lot of trouble. He was charged with first degree murder, ultimately tried for 2nd degree and currently serving his sentence. Going through that, while being a single parent took so much out of me and my grades suffered. I dropped out and worked full time. I am back in school now at the age of 28 and will be graduating next year. I've since co-founded a local non profit organization designed to match mentors to teenage girls in my area. I am an URM, now married with two kids and I've raised my GPA from a sickening 2.1 to 2.7 (expecting to get it to at least 3.0 by the time I graduate) Besides doing exceptionally well on the LSAT, what are some other suggestions you may have that can help me become a viable candidate for Law School? Should I think about joining some on campus organizations as well? Also, I am taking the LSAT in October- any study tips to help me smash this exam would be so greatly appreciated.

sn- my desire to become an attorney has nothing to do with my brother's situation, no "Conviction" type stuff going on here. :)

ran12

Silver

Re: Is it even possible for me?

Post by ran12 » Fri Jul 15, 2011 3:23 pm

Joining campus orgs at this point is not going to help. The reason people join orgs is to demonstrate their ability to be leaders and make a contribution.