Is it ever worth it to delay for several years law school?

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
PrelawSteve

Is it ever worth it to delay for several years law school?

Postby PrelawSteve » Mon Jul 04, 2011 1:55 am

Hello,

I am a reasonably bright paralegal that is considering attending law school. When I mention this to many people, they say "well go apply." Conventional wisdom says that if you want to be a lawyer, than go apply to Law school right now.

Based on my softs and stats, I would say that I am realistically looking at T30, but unlikely T10, and a real stretch for T6 and no for HYS.

However, I am aware of the following about law school, the legal market and myself:

1. The Legal industry is very pedigree oriented and at some law firms, whether you went to Cornell compared to Harvard has a strong affect on your ability to get hired. In other words, even among t14, the pecking order has a real affect in terms of hiring decisions.

2. With as reported two applicants for every job, law school can be a kind of crapshoot investment.

3. Law school loans are non dischargeable and have very high interest rates!! I played some Blackjack back in the day and a 50/50 shot of having no job and nondischargeable debt in the mid six figures, does not sound like a fun bet.

4. My ability in life to get jobs is strangely hit or miss, in both directions:
It is a long story why, but there have been times when I got jobs that no one could believe I could get which paid great and times when despite trying I couldn't get any job for 4 months.

However, however,

I have the following opportunities: