Interviewing for job in law office

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
HarveyBirdman

Interviewing for job in law office

Postby HarveyBirdman » Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:46 pm

I've got an interview for a job at a law office in a few days, and I'm trying to go through what kind of questions they are going to ask me. I'm still in college, this is some kind of office assistant position, but since I have no office work experience, I'm guessing me saying "yah I wanna be a lawyer one day!!11" in my cover letter led to them even considering me.

So I'm anticipating the question "why do you want to be a lawyer?" coming up. And for the life of me I can't think of an answer. Yes I genuinely do want to be a lawyer, but I don't know how to articulate that beyond "it seems cool." Can you guys help me out? I'm sure there are people here who have been on a million job/internship interviews and have this down to a science.

What other questions do you think I should expect?

bk1

Re: Interviewing for job in law office

Postby bk1 » Mon Jun 20, 2011 3:07 pm

They're probably not going to ask you why you want to be a lawyer. Most legal support staff never go to law school and I'd imagine a great many of them don't intend to become lawyers.

If they ask you why you want a job as legal support staff you should be honest. I would assume that the reason is because you think you want to be a lawyer and would like to work in a legal environment before you decide for sure to pursue law school.

HarveyBirdman

Postby HarveyBirdman » Mon Jun 20, 2011 3:41 pm

bk1 wrote:They're probably not going to ask you why you want to be a lawyer. Most legal support staff never go to law school and I'd imagine a great many of them don't intend to become lawyers.