Engineer turned Criminal Defense Lawyer? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Bangalmafia

New

Engineer turned Criminal Defense Lawyer?

Post by Bangalmafia » Sun May 01, 2011 8:54 pm

Hey guys,

I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts/experience on the subject....

I'm an engineering student about to graduate to start work with a tech consulting company. I was hoping to work for the company a few years to save up cash before applying to law school. Here's the thing, I have no interest in heading into IP.... I am mainly interested in focusing on criminal litigation or civil liberties.

Would I be taken seriously as an applicant to law schools or as a hire upon graduation?

I can't help but think, I am getting further from my goals with the job move... but really I don't want to apply for law school straight out of college. The consulting was a nice way to get paid to take time off.

Thanks in advance for any insight.

rinkrat19

Diamond

Re: Engineer turned Criminal Defense Lawyer?

Post by rinkrat19 » Sun May 01, 2011 9:17 pm

I don't know about hiring, but engineers do fine in the LS application process. Engineering majors have one of the highest LSAT averages. You may want to frame your personal statement in such a way as to explain why you're leaving a perfectly good field to go to law school, but that's not hard, and certainly not uncommon.

A degree in engineering won't make up for a bad GPA, but adcomms do recognize that your undergrad degree was probably harder than average. When compared with a sociology or art history major with an identical GPA and otherwise equivalent qualifications, you may get the nod.

Work experience after undergrad is not a minus, and can be a fairly decent plus, especially if you're applying to Northwestern, where it's practically required.

JamMasterJ

Platinum

Post by JamMasterJ » Sun May 01, 2011 9:21 pm