Grad school or paralegal? Need input

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
ejf5060

Grad school or paralegal? Need input

Postby ejf5060 » Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:22 am

Hello everyone. I am taking a year off between undergrad and law school (Why? Primarily because I applied late--as in March 31). I am graduating with degrees in history, journalism, political science from a public ivy; URM; 90th percentile LSAT; high GPA; strong softs. I got into a couple T20 schools, but (due to the lateness of my applications) no aid (VERY important). Also, I am studying hard for the June LSAT and I believe I can get a much higher score (when I first took it in February I self-studied, now I am self-studying using the invaluably helpful blueprint online course). Career-wise, I want Biglaw. Anyway, my options boil down to work or study:
1)one-year masters in economics at the University of Hong Kong (very highly ranked school, around $15,000 in loans)
or
2)Work for a law firm (already have job offer from mid-size mortgage banking firm downtown but also considering paralegal certificate during summer then work)

What would you do? Thank you in advance for the help and let me know if there is any relevant information I forgot to include.

FiveSermon

Re: Grad school or paralegal? Need input

Postby FiveSermon » Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:23 am

Work. Work looks better on your resume and can be valuable for OCI. You can also save $.

dr123

Postby dr123 » Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:24 am

Work

Making money > spending money

BlakcMajikc

Postby BlakcMajikc » Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:29 am

which ever one makes you more happy. you'll be fine with either option.

The chump change that you save as a paralegal will pale in comparison to the scholly dollars you will get when you increase that LSAT score.

cucullu

Postby cucullu » Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:39 pm

paralegal! provides a familiarity with the field that will make for useful context once you are in school. also, it's nice to be out of school for a bit.