The Importance of Work Experience

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
loadkal

The Importance of Work Experience

Postby loadkal » Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:15 am

After reading various articles in newspapers and online, it feels like the legal industry isn't what it used to be. I am interested in corporate law or working at a medium sized law firm in Chicago. I was wondering how important work experience is for employment prospects after law school.

Here is my situation.
I graduated from a my state's flagship university with a Bachelor in Economics. After graduating college I studied for the LSAT and took it in October. I applied that fall and got into T2 schools in Chicago(Loyola and Kent). Because of the LSAT and partly me being lazy, I was unable to get a meaningful full-time job. I was originally planning on going straight to law school but after reading about the current market I'm having second thoughts.

Could somebody who is a 3L or currently working answer a few of my questions?
- Should I defer for a year or two and get some work experience?
- Will my 1 year gap between UG and Law school look bad to future employers at OCI?
- Do employers (mainly law firms) care about your work experience before law school?

Things are a little tricky because I've been out of school for almost a year and its getting harder to find a meaningful job in the business world. Right now the only thing I have setup is a analyst job for the federal government but I'm still waiting for my start date (which could take several months).

Danteshek

Re: The Importance of Work Experience

Postby Danteshek » Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:19 am

Work experience is very important. This is especially if your credentials are not top-notch. If I were you I would pursue the government job and revisit the law school idea in three years. You are just too young and inexperienced to be intelligently considering a T2 law school.

MrPapagiorgio

Postby MrPapagiorgio » Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:21 am