Examsoft question

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
User avatar
angiej
Posts: 796
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:25 am

Re: Examsoft question

Postby angiej » Sun Feb 27, 2011 12:04 pm

Capitol A wrote:
angiej wrote:I'm not very computer/tech savvy either but plan to conquer the bootcamp with windows in a few days when I receive my first ever Mac. I would be happy to report my experience then.

Please do. I would really like to get a Mac, but this intimidates me. I don't want to make myself sound like an idiot, but seriously, I can use the internet, type a paper and that's about it. I'm a little older, and it was not until I got to college that it became a given that everyone had computers and knew how to use them. Even then, it really wasn't necessary to be completely tech savvy to accomplish what I needed to.


Sure, you got it! My Mac is supposed to arrive Tuesday and I hope to spend some time with it on Wednesday.

User avatar
angiej
Posts: 796
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:25 am

Re: Examsoft question

Postby angiej » Tue Mar 01, 2011 1:43 pm

I went to my school's software store today to pickup a copy of Windows 7 to install on my new Mac (haven't tinkered with it yet). I asked for Windows 7 for Mac and I got a funny look. They said there isn't such a thing - but they didn't provide any suggestion. Do I need to just get the Windows 7 for PC and install that onto the Mac? I guess I'm confused because I know there is an Office 2011 specifically for Mac. Help!

User avatar
haus
Posts: 2847
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:07 am

Re: Examsoft question

Postby haus » Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:28 pm

You are correct, you simply need a regular copy of Windows 7.

Microsoft sells Windows 7 in multiple versions:

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/window ... fault.aspx

If the primary concern will be to run examsoft you can likely get away with the Home Premium version (the starter version might work, but I do not believe that it is sold in the US). I would check the examsoft site to check for requirements, but that site is blocked by corporate policy.

User avatar
angiej
Posts: 796
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:25 am

Re: Examsoft question

Postby angiej » Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:42 pm

Gotchya, thanks. And is there any benefit to paying a little more to run parallels so that I can use Office 2010 without having to reboot?

User avatar
haus
Posts: 2847
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:07 am

Re: Examsoft question

Postby haus » Tue Mar 01, 2011 4:43 pm

Using a Virtual Machine (VM) tool such as Parallels, VMWare, virtualbox, or others, can be quite handy if you find that you want access to a Windows, Linux, or other OS without shutting down OS X.

Keep in mind that exam tools will often check to see if they are attempted to be accessed via a VM, and if so they will shut themselves down. From what I understand most if not all of the major exam tools have native OS X clients out now, although it is up to the individual school to determine if these version will be allowed for their students.

If I recall correctly some VM tools will allow you to access a Boot Camp instance within as a Virtual Machine so that you can get more use out of it at times that you do not want to reboot. I have both a boot camp and a VM instance (I run Linux, Solaris, and Windows in VM), but I run them to rarely to bother with the combo set up.


---- adding additional info -----

From the Exam soft site:

"Operating System = English 32-bit Versions of Windows XP, 32-bit and 64-bit Versions of Windows Vista and Windows 7. SofTest may not be used in virtual operating systems."
source:
--LinkRemoved--

Now that I have re-read your earlier post, yes you can run Office via a VM so that you can run the Windows version of Office. I suspect that if all else were equal you would likely prefer the responsiveness of the native Mac version of office.

User avatar
angiej
Posts: 796
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:25 am

Re: Examsoft question

Postby angiej » Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:06 pm

haus wrote:Using a Virtual Machine (VM) tool such as Parallels, VMWare, virtualbox, or others, can be quite handy if you find that you want access to a Windows, Linux, or other OS without shutting down OS X.

Keep in mind that exam tools will often check to see if they are attempted to be accessed via a VM, and if so they will shut themselves down. From what I understand most if not all of the major exam tools have native OS X clients out now, although it is up to the individual school to determine if these version will be allowed for their students.

If I recall correctly some VM tools will allow you to access a Boot Camp instance within as a Virtual Machine so that you can get more use out of it at times that you do not want to reboot. I have both a boot camp and a VM instance (I run Linux, Solaris, and Windows in VM), but I run them to rarely to bother with the combo set up.


---- adding additional info -----

From the Exam soft site:

"Operating System = English 32-bit Versions of Windows XP, 32-bit and 64-bit Versions of Windows Vista and Windows 7. SofTest may not be used in virtual operating systems."
source:
--LinkRemoved--

Now that I have re-read your earlier post, yes you can run Office via a VM so that you can run the Windows version of Office. I suspect that if all else were equal you would likely prefer the responsiveness of the native Mac version of office.


Thanks, Haus!

I get a deep discount on software at my university so I tried Office 2011 for Mac and I absolutely love it! If I can find a OneNote alternative for my Mac (which I also LOVE) then I may forget the idea of running parallels al together! So far, I have not had any compatability issues and all the features that I use in Office products (like Word and Excel) are available to me in the Mac version (though some commands took me a little time to locate for the first time). So Capitol A - I don't think you should let any possible intimidation keep you from getting a Mac. At least go to an Apple store and spend some time using applications you are curious about.

Now . . . for the perfect note taking software for Mac. Any recommendations?

User avatar
haus
Posts: 2847
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:07 am

Re: Examsoft question

Postby haus » Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:07 pm

One popular note taking app is made by Circus Ponies

http://www.circusponies.com/

If I recall correctly they have started to sell there application through the new app store, which is a nice added benefit for users as the app store centralizes updates and makes it easy to use your purchased application over multiple systems should you by another mac down the road.

Capitol A
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 2:23 pm

Re: Examsoft question

Postby Capitol A » Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:09 pm

You bring up my next question...if an exam is 'open note' (which, surprisingly, I have heard they sometimes are); and you have been using a Mac note taking program, will you be able to open your notes while using exam soft in windows?
If you can't, then wouldn't you be better off using a windows based note taker? And if you're using a windows note taking program, what's the point of having a Mac?
Thanks for the help.

User avatar
haus
Posts: 2847
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:07 am

Re: Examsoft question

Postby haus » Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:34 pm

Capitol A wrote:You bring up my next question...if an exam is 'open note' (which, surprisingly, I have heard they sometimes are); and you have been using a Mac note taking program, will you be able to open your notes while using exam soft in windows?
If you can't, then wouldn't you be better off using a windows based note taker? And if you're using a windows note taking program, what's the point of having a Mac?
Thanks for the help.


Of course mileage may vary, but the primary role of the exam software is to turn a computer into a dummy terminal, no access to networks or files.

Some professors may opt to have open note exams. In this case it makes little sense to restrict access, hence the software may not he called for in such a case.




Return to “Law School FAQ”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests