Question about my fairly unique situation

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
CP2323

Question about my fairly unique situation

Postby CP2323 » Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:52 pm

So I want to attend law school and have taken the LSAT once and applied for law schools for fall 2011. My situation is fairly different from the average law school candidate. I am a married man and father of 3 children who will be 32 this year. I am a disabled veteran from the United States Navy and have worked as a middle school teacher for the past two years. My hard numbers are fairly bad since I messed around during my first year in college before going into the Navy. (Didn’t attend class and spent my time with my girlfriend at the time who is now my wife) Here are my hard numbers:

LSAT 157 (1 attempt no prep at all)
Undergrad GPA according to LSAC 2.33 (upper classes is a 3.0)
Graduate school GPA 3.75 (I have a Master's degree in social studies education from University of Tampa)
Varied work experience from Sales, Military, and Education background
Hundreds of hours of volunteer experience
Low socioeconomic background (single parent household, welfare as a child, etc)
Fairly famous last name (in some circles and areas of the country, family has been in America since before it was a country and some significant ties to Harvard in particular)

Now my dilemma I can attend a public school in Ohio and Florida (due to residency laws) for free with my post 9-11 GI bill. I am currently accepted to University of Akron and Wait listed for Stetson. I have outstanding applications for OSU, UofC, UF, and FSU. I know my chances are not very high of getting accepted (especially since I was already wait listed for Stetson and denied at Penn State)

Is there any chance at all that I can overcome my low undergraduate GPA by scoring higher on the LSAT or should I go ahead and accept going to a third tier school since I will come out with little (less then 20K) to zero debt?