To those currently enrolled in law school Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
jasonc.

Bronze

To those currently enrolled in law school

Post by jasonc. » Wed Feb 02, 2011 4:00 pm

How much have you been able to cut down Living Expenses (minus rent food) I see many schools showing living expenses around 16,000. this seems really high to me.(excluding rent in nyc/la for example.)

nealric

Re: To those currently enrolled in law school

Post by nealric » Thu Feb 03, 2011 1:09 am

I graduated from law school, so I can chime in.

If you are willing to be frugal, you can certainly cut down on those expenses as a single person. Rent a place with a lot of room mates, cook your own food, don't blow money on frivolous things. I was always surprised by how many people blew money on expensive clothes/dinners/computers/apartments/trips in law school. Things get complicated with families though.

World B. Free

Bronze

Post by World B. Free » Thu Feb 03, 2011 1:20 am

nealric wrote:I graduated from law school, so I can chime in.

If you are willing to be frugal, you can certainly cut down on those expenses as a single person. Rent a place with a lot of room mates, cook your own food, don't blow money on frivolous things. I was always surprised by how many people blew money on expensive clothes/dinners/computers/apartments/trips in law school. Things get complicated with families though.
All I know is the Starbucks on campus rakes in a killing. It's always the same people everyday that buy -- don't how most people afford it. Drinking water saves a ton. :)

androstan

Gold

Post by androstan » Thu Feb 03, 2011 2:07 pm

World B. Free wrote:
nealric wrote:I graduated from law school, so I can chime in.

All I know is the Starbucks on campus rakes in a killing. It's always the same people everyday that buy -- don't how most people afford it. Drinking water saves a ton. :)
Also, buying a $20 coffee maker if you need the damn caffeine.

Nogameisfair

Bronze