Part-Time Programs

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
LS-Hopeful

Part-Time Programs

Postby LS-Hopeful » Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:27 am

I am a CPA and would like to continue to work at my current job while attending law school part-time. Will I have the same opportunities as the full-time students come OCI?

nealric

Re: Part-Time Programs

Postby nealric » Sun Jan 30, 2011 1:32 pm

Yes, although the only PT programs that have much of an OCI are Georgetown and Fordham.

LS-Hopeful

Postby LS-Hopeful » Sun Jan 30, 2011 2:05 pm

nealric wrote:Yes, although the only PT programs that have much of an OCI are Georgetown and Fordham.

Does that mean that a part-timer would not be able to apply for the same interviews as the full-timers at schools with part time programs other than Georgetown and Fordham?

kalvano

Postby kalvano » Sun Jan 30, 2011 2:13 pm

Where do you work now?

CanadianWolf

Postby CanadianWolf » Sun Jan 30, 2011 2:16 pm

Where is your current job ? Seems as if that's important since you want to continue working there during law school ?

LSATclincher

Postby LSATclincher » Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:10 pm

I'm going the part-time route, too. But I'm currently working in law and continuing to search for a better position in law. I think you need to use the 4 years in school to gain legal work experience. That way, you can compete with your peers, who gained internships during school. Also, PT programs will continue gaining respect. As the investment aspect of law school continues to weigh on people's shoulders, more people will consider PT programs. Hiring firms will not look down on you for recognizing the need to earn income while in school. If anything, they will probably admire it.

While GULC, GW, and Fordham have the best PT programs, there are some decent schools offering in-state tuition: Maryland, George Mason, Temple, and Rutgers. These are all good regional schools, with huge alumni bases.

nealric

Postby nealric » Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:34 pm