Lacking business background Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
TLSNYC

Silver

Lacking business background

Post by TLSNYC » Mon Jan 17, 2011 4:51 pm

I'm fairly set that I will be attending law school in the fall and like many OLs am unsure what kind of law would interest me. I like the thought of working for a big firm doing litigation, but I am nervous that I have NO background whatsoever in business. I majored in philosophy and I cannot tell you any facts about corporations, how they work, how stocks/shareholders work, etc I am completely lost and I was wondering what I could do to make myself a little less ignorant over the summer before law school.

ran12

Silver

Re: Lacking business background

Post by ran12 » Mon Jan 17, 2011 5:02 pm

TLSNYC wrote:I'm fairly set that I will be attending law school in the fall and like many OLs am unsure what kind of law would interest me. I like the thought of working for a big firm doing litigation, but I am nervous that I have NO background whatsoever in business. I majored in philosophy and I cannot tell you any facts about corporations, how they work, how stocks/shareholders work, etc I am completely lost and I was wondering what I could do to make myself a little less ignorant over the summer before law school.
Just google that stuff and all the basic info you need should be pretty easy to find. You can also buy a business law book and skim it if you want but that's not something I recommend.

Renzo

Gold

Post by Renzo » Mon Jan 17, 2011 5:06 pm

Read Dealings by Felix Rohaytn.

It's an autobiography of a very accomplished banker/public servant/diplomat. It's non-technical, it's an interesting insider's look of the rooms from where our national economy is run (the White House, Wall Street, the Federal Reserve, etc.), and it'll give you a good flavor for the kind of big-picture things that wall street lawyers do. He talks about several famous financial crisis', scandals, financial deals, etc.

Shooter