Interested in Corporate Law Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
TheLegalBeagle

New

Interested in Corporate Law

Post by TheLegalBeagle » Wed Jan 12, 2011 6:43 pm

I'm a freshman in a private university, and I've been interested in Corporate (particularly International) Law recently. I have a few questions:

1. What's a good major for it? I'm currently doing History as my B.A., and I'm hoping to get into law school with it.
2. How is JAG viewed? I'm hoping to go into Navy JAG for 4 years after law school, will law firms look down on it, or would they like the litigation experience?
3. What classes should I take now in college, and in law school, to get a good idea of International corporate law?

Thanks! :)

Let1Equal0

New

Re: Interested in Corporate Law

Post by Let1Equal0 » Wed Jan 12, 2011 6:49 pm

I heard international law is a booming field, especially in the area of corporate quasi-market securities arbitration.

bk1

Diamond

Post by bk1 » Wed Jan 12, 2011 6:50 pm

Relax. You're a freshman in college and are a very different person than you will be several years from now.

megaTTTron

Silver

Post by megaTTTron » Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:33 am

Let1Equal0 wrote:I heard international law is a booming field, especially in the area of corporate quasi-market securities arbitration.
I laughed so hard.

concurrent fork

Silver

Post by concurrent fork » Thu Jan 13, 2011 1:22 pm

Learn the capitols of small, former soviet republics. This should give you an edge during international law recruiting season.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

apollo13

Bronze

Post by apollo13 » Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:53 pm

Chill for now and lurk around TLS for a bit and you will see.
If taking business related classes won't negatively affect your GPA, then by all means take it.