Work experience

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
crumpetsandtea

Work experience

Postby crumpetsandtea » Wed Dec 01, 2010 9:41 pm

I'm currently looking for a job, planning on applying next cycle. My question is this:

I currently have a job offer at a small police defense law firm (I used to be a paid intern for them, so they know me and offered to let me come back whenever).

BUT. I am interested in potentially pursuing environmental or PI law. Would it be more beneficial app-wise for me to live at home and volunteer-intern at a local enviornmental/PI law firm (assuming I can get a spot), or should I just take the job I've been offered?

I have until mid/late December to decide on the internship offer, but I'm wondering if I should just take it now or postpone and cold-call some enviro/PI firms in the area.

Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated. My WE is VERY important to me since I'm a splitter.

tourdeforcex

Re: Work experience

Postby tourdeforcex » Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:57 pm

i think the major issue of concern is the probability you can land an environmental or PI law internship or job offer.

and since this needs to be soon, the probability falls.

i'd say take the offer. work, and keep looking around. maybe you land something maybe you don't. either way you have some WE.

dood

Postby dood » Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:30 am

Last edited by dood on Mon Dec 06, 2010 2:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

crumpetsandtea

Postby crumpetsandtea » Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:47 am

i think the major issue of concern is the probability you can land an environmental or PI law internship or job offer.

and since this needs to be soon, the probability falls.

i'd say take the offer. work, and keep looking around. maybe you land something maybe you don't. either way you have some WE.