Atypical Transfer Situation Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
captainslow

New

Atypical Transfer Situation

Post by captainslow » Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:49 pm

Feel like I can post this now that I (finally) got my score.

I'm graduating in December with a 3.85 which bumps up to a 3.93 with all those lovely A+'s, summa or magna cum laude (pending thesis evaluation) from a top 10 public. Additional facts: junior VP of a PR firm, 8 political campaigns and a small business under my belt, several student orgs with leadership, lots of service, a couple internships (Governor's office, law review, GOP, local paper) and a buttload of debate awards. Pseudo-URM (Mexican kid adopted by white family).

LSAT score: 173

PROBLEM: Yeah, so my 4-year GPA is pretty hot, but I'm a transfer student and my CC GPA... well, it pretty much blows. Drags the whole thing down to about a 3.48.

QUESTION: How heavily do you think my CC performance will impact me, especially given how successful I've been since then? Which schools will this bar me from? Just HYS or CCN as well? What about the rest of the t14?

James Bond

Gold

Re: Atypical Transfer Situation

Post by James Bond » Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:58 pm

captainslow wrote:Feel like I can post this now that I (finally) got my score.

I'm graduating in December with a 3.85 which bumps up to a 3.93 with all those lovely A+'s, summa or magna cum laude (pending thesis evaluation) from a top 10 public. Additional facts: junior VP of a PR firm, 8 political campaigns and a small business under my belt, several student orgs with leadership, lots of service, a couple internships (Governor's office, law review, GOP, local paper) and a buttload of debate awards. Pseudo-URM (Mexican kid adopted by white family).

LSAT score: 173

PROBLEM: Yeah, so my 4-year GPA is pretty hot, but I'm a transfer student and my CC GPA... well, it pretty much blows. Drags the whole thing down to about a 3.48.