Can’t believe I’m asking this: to go or not to go? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Apple Tree

Bronze

Can’t believe I’m asking this: to go or not to go?

Post by Apple Tree » Mon Oct 11, 2010 5:19 pm

My situation: Got into UVA, $25k/year scholly, deferred a year to save money for school. I’m a CPA and working as a tax accountant for a private company. I like the part of my job that involves problem solving, but not the tax return preparation part (ironically).

Reasons I applied to law school: liked my legal classes; liked working for a small family law firm and their work seemed interesting; wanted a change from my current job; and wanted a better pay.

Reasons I’m hesitant about going to law school: When I applied, I had my goal set on big law. But with this year off, I started to realize I definitely do not want to work insane hours (>60 hours) all the time and I want to do something that really interests me. I would be at least $70k + interest in debt when I graduate. The fields that interest me are family law, public interest law, etc. But I know these places rarely hire fresh grads. The only upper hand I have in finding employment is my CPA and tax related experience. I hope to steer away from the tax field because of lack of interest, but I’m afraid I’ll be sucked back in because of the pressure to pay off loan. I know practicing tax law is different from doing a tax return, but I just don’t know how excited I could get for a new tax code like my boss does.

I have a great deal of interest in some non-legal fields and could go to school w/o loan. I won’t make that much when I graduate but I’ll be doing something I care about. The worst case scenario: I fail to work in the field I desire, but at least I’ll be debt free.