Undergrad major and the steps into Law

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
cali12

Undergrad major and the steps into Law

Postby cali12 » Tue Sep 21, 2010 7:23 pm

Hi, firstly I want to introduce myself . I am from California and currently attending in first year of college. Chemistry is my major, but I am not happy with it. Law field has always been on my mind...so I want to ask what should I major in if I decide to go for Law? I heard it should be Political Science but I'm not sure. For example, if my major is Political Science then I have to get a 4 years bachelor degree of Political Science and then apply to Law School? What are the different concentrations in law? I'm interested in Family Law and Torts Law though. :mrgreen: Thanks for reading my thread and I hope some people can help me out. :mrgreen:

im_blue

Re: Undergrad major and the steps into Law

Postby im_blue » Tue Sep 21, 2010 7:35 pm

1) whatever gives you the highest GPA
2) whatever develops your reading and writing skills

The most common pre-law majors are poli sci, history, English, and econ.

kswiss

Postby kswiss » Wed Sep 22, 2010 1:09 am

Do something you think you'll enjoy. Then get amazing grades. Major isn't really important unless it is something off the wall, like clothing design or something, and even then the GPA is still probably more important than the course of study.

Grizz

Postby Grizz » Wed Sep 22, 2010 1:10 am

You're a freshman. Drink moar and have moar secks.

bk1

Postby bk1 » Wed Sep 22, 2010 2:25 am

rad law wrote:You're a freshman. Drink moar and have moar secks.

hijodehombre

Postby hijodehombre » Wed Sep 22, 2010 2:28 am

rad law wrote:You're a freshman. Drink moar and moar triple secks.

Lieut Kaffee

Postby Lieut Kaffee » Wed Sep 22, 2010 2:29 am

Most important considerations are GPA and studying something that actually makes you not hate going to class (these are also highly correlated in my view).