I have done no prep for law school. Am I screwed? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
audrey hepburn

New

I have done no prep for law school. Am I screwed?

Post by audrey hepburn » Mon Jul 26, 2010 12:44 am

Hey all,

I am starting law school at a T2 in the fall. I have done absolutely no prep of any sort. I have no idea what a tort is, or any other law topic for that matter. I don't know what "briefing" means, nor do I know anything about outlining. Basically, I have zero knowledge about what to expect for law school, except:

A. It will be very hard.
B. The final is worth 100% of your grade (unless you have a professor who gives points on participation).
C. Exams are curved.

So my question is, am I at a huge disadvantage? Should I start prepping for the next 3-4 weeks before school starts, or does it really not matter?

cahesu

New

Re: I have done no prep for law school. Am I screwed?

Post by cahesu » Mon Jul 26, 2010 12:46 am

TLS prevailing wisdom is that 1L summer is prep is not necessary, especially substantive (subject-based) prep. However, it might be advisable to read Getting to Maybe.

Bumi

Silver

Post by Bumi » Mon Jul 26, 2010 12:47 am

All the advice I ever heard about prepping for law school was "Don't. Enjoy your summer."

Stands to reason that you'd benefit from poking around in some of the "how to study in law school" threads, though.

DoubleChecks

Gold

Post by DoubleChecks » Mon Jul 26, 2010 12:48 am

cahesu wrote:TLS prevailing wisdom is that 1L summer is prep is not necessary, especially substantive (subject-based) prep. However, it might be advisable to read Getting to Maybe.
+1 from what ive read on TLS...i plan on being a decently active poster even during my law school days so ill let you know after 1L how accurate i personally found that info haha