dilemma--I've got local career, wife got a 177 LSAT Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
notalawyer

New

dilemma--I've got local career, wife got a 177 LSAT

Post by notalawyer » Fri Jun 11, 2010 4:05 pm

I've been selling cars for over 10 years--since I was 17--and have gotten pretty successful at it in my local community. For the past 3 years I've been running my dad's old car lot, and I make over $200k per year doing it, even with the downturn. Thing is, it kind of ties me down to this particular location, which isn't close to any law school that would qualify as a "top law school" like you folks here go to. Because I basically inherited a thriving business, I'm not sure I could just pick up shop somewhere else and make anything close to what I'm making here.

Other thing is, I married a smartie, who just graduated with highest honors at the local college. We'd always planned on her going to law school around here afterward. She still insists that she'd be okay with that, but I know that she could go somewhere like Harvard, and I'd feel extremely guilty if she gave something like that up for me.

So I guess my question is basically whether in the long run it'd be better financially for me to sell my business and go with her to some fancy school, or have her stay around here and go to law school at a local law school?

mallard

Silver

Re: dilemma--I've got local career, wife got a 177 LSAT

Post by mallard » Fri Jun 11, 2010 4:07 pm

What's the local school?

Diamond

Post by 09042014 » Fri Jun 11, 2010 4:07 pm

Have her go local for free. It's best for you, not necessarily her though.

stintez

Bronze

Post by stintez » Fri Jun 11, 2010 4:08 pm

question 1 what law schools are near you.

question 2 are any of them half way decent if so your wife would probably go for free

question 3 does she plan on practicing law where you live.

bestusernameever

New

Post by bestusernameever » Fri Jun 11, 2010 4:08 pm